Save/Load a device template

Device templates enable you to store device settings and load them into any of your devices. The benefit of device templates is that you can store commonly used settings in a template, which you can load into new or existing devices, saving you valuable time by not having to enter each setting manually.

Required permission

Only users with “manage devices”-permission can use and apply device templates.

When you save a template the following settings will be stored:

  • Name and category (from the [Info] tab)
  • WANLAN, and firewall settings (from the [Config] tab)
  • HTTPVNC, and WS service settings (from the [Services] tab)
  • Users or user groups added to access to device (from the [Access] tab)

Data logging service

The data logging service, including data tags and dashboards, will not be stored.

This article will show you how to:

Save a template

The following steps will show you how to save a template.

  • Go to [Devices] in the main menu, select the concerning device, press […] to open more options, and select [Save as template].
  • Name the template and press [Save].

Load a template

Once you saved a template you will be able to load this template into a device. The following steps will show you how.

  • Go to [Devices] in the main menu, select the concerning device, press […] to open more options, and select [Load from template].
  • Select the template and press [Load].

Edit a template

The category and access settings in a template can be edited directly. To change other settings you’ll have to create a new template.

Edit category

The following steps will show you how to edit the category setting inside the template.

  • Go to [Management] in the main menu, select [Device templates], select the concerning template(s) and press [Edit info].
  • Select the concerning category and press [Confirm].

Edit access

The following steps will show you how to edit the access to device setting in a template:

  • Go to [Management] in the main menu, select [Device templates], select the concerning template(s), and press [Edit access].
  • Select the concerning users and/or user groups and press [Confirm].